Annie On Writing

September 5, 2008

Writing style

Filed under: My Journey as a Writer — Annie Evett @ 12:47 am
Tags: , ,

Over at Write Anything a new writing meme has been posted, and Janie has asked for readers to respond on their own blogs, and post a link back on the site. The meme itself was started by Becca at Write on Wednesday .
1. Do you write fiction or non-fiction? Or both?

Both. I have a number of blogs and they keep growing – like a virus some might say.
Swashbuckling Adventures http://www.captainjuan.com

Flash Fiction http://www.annieevett.blogspot.com

Dissertations on writing http://www.annieonwriting.wordpress.com

Family Blog and updates – http://www.evett-family-happenings.blogspot.com – which is only open to family and close friends

Reclaiming Sex After Birth – a survival guide for couples ( has a blog for researched articles I update very week on the website)
http://www.reclaimsexafterbirth.com

I also have two quasi secret ones – which do not bear my name. One is a social commentary and articles and the other is my spleen vent and ramblings about nothing and everything.

2. Do you keep a journal or a writing notebook?

I have a notepad with me in my bag and one in the car(for traffic jams) I used to do morning pages but gave it up after 10 weeks as my lifestyle doesn’t suit sitting down quietly in the morning and composing thoughts.

3. If you write fiction, do you know your characters’ goals, motivations, and conflicts before you start writing or is that something else you discover only after you start writing? Do you find books on plotting useful or harmful?

I’ve only written short stories so far. A character will come to me – sometimes fully fledged – other times just the name and a face and as I write they reveal themselves to me. I ask a lot of questions before I write too far into a story. Plotting is a bit of a waste of time for me as the characters once settled and comfortable on my page take it to places I had never intended – so I don’t try any longer. Captain Juan traveled across the globe to see me one evening.. and look where we are now…

4. Are you a procrastinator or does the itch to write keep at you until you sit down and work?

A story will come to me in the most bizarre places and I have to write down the bare bones of it there and then – thus my notepads. I will also use backs of envelopes and scraps of paper shoved in my purse and then transpose them to my computer when I get home.

5. Do you write in short bursts of creative energy, or can you sit down and write for hours at a time?

umm bit of both I think. When I have quiet time with no distractions, I can sit for hours to write and research.. I must admit I love to have the internet on hand to look up a term or an object to give my writing more authenticity. However, I have written in the busiest and strangest places. I take my laptop with me to the park and usually do my music musings meme short story there. I take my laptop to Lollypops – an indoor playland for small children ( imagine 200 toddlers to 5 yr olds running and screaming on all sorts of play equipment) Once I am in the flow its hard to stop me… However I do need to be flexible as I write around playing with young kids, making dinner, cleaning the house etc.

6. Are you a morning or afternoon writer?

I am a whatever the time I can get writer. However – during the week I generally do about an hour or so in the morning ( after school drop off and Playschool is on) Then if Jodi comes over in the afternoon after school, we both write for about an hour or two. After the family is settled and asleep – about 10 pm – I will write and muse for two hours or so. Weekends are hit and miss depending on what the family is up to.

7. Do you write with music/the noise of children/in a cafe or other public setting, or do you need complete silence to concentrate?

I think I covered this is a previous question – I would prefer the dead of night- when all are asleep – my characters come alive to me then – but on the other hand, some of them have no qualms in appearing at the most inconvenient or private moments; demanding their story to be written.

8. Computer or longhand? (or typewriter?)

Computer defiantly. Although I use my notebook and writer when I am out in the park with the kids or shopping or in a café – when it comes to transposing the notes I can’t read my writing its so awful.

9. Do you know the ending before you type Chapter One? Or do you let the story evolve as you write?
As Captain Juan is the only book I have been involved with in writing so far, I can only answer this with a ‘sort of’. The three authors have no real idea where the story is actually going and just enjoying the trip that the good Captain and the crew are leading us on. Inspiration will hit and we communicate with each other on places or events we would like to have included so it is written in – however we are leaving this wide open for anything to happen. I’ll be writing for NaNoWrMo – so am still in two minds whether to have a plot set or not. I have a vague idea of where I want it to go and events – but whether this happens or not is another thing all together.
10. Does what’s selling in the market influence how and what you write?

Not at all. I am embarrassed to say I have no idea what is on the top selling lists at the moment.
11. Editing/Revision – love it or hate it?

Hate it. I don’t think I’m a good editor – no I know I am a very poor one. I am blessed to be friends with Jodi Cleghorn and have done projects with her – where I just spew ideas and she edits them up. She makes my very poor words sound brilliant. It’s a skill I know I need to develop. Once I write a story I hate to have to go back over it.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Say something constructive... or nice at least.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

