Annie On Writing

May 31, 2009

My Writing Goals 2009 – progress

Filed under: Writing Tools — Annie Evett @ 12:59 am

Paul have once again shamed me with taking responsibility for the published goals they have on his blog and in the gentlest way possible kicked me up the bum as encouragement to publicly announce my progress.

Anthology
I have all 12 stories edited to a point I like them. I have also had them edited by a friend ( who is an editor)  I made a promise I would accompany at least half of them with some line work – so need to get into doing this. Jodi is very busy now, so the layout and turning the stories into a book format is back on us  SO it’s a great opportunity to learn another skill I guess – layout… I have a goal of having them available online by the 28th of June. ( I am leaving for a month – so want to have it completed by this time)
Get a regular writing gig either print or internet
Still with Type A Mom and Write Anything.  I have also been asked and published first article with a living consciously newsletter attached to a living green type website. I’ll be the relationships writer there – so please pop on and look at my first article.


Focus on building Reclaim

Have bought a three CD pack about building your information empire – a concept I have looked at in a number of seminars I’ve been to. Am still to actually listen to it – but am doing some back up copies so I don’t wreck the originals and will lend to Jodi too. I am sure she will find them useful for her other projects. Might see if I can send Paul a sample as well.

Captain Juan
Waiting on the others to come back on board – literally – really keen to continue as this keeps me ‘sane’ and I love to write it – but don’t want to take control….
Fiction Friday every week
Have done this consistently – I think I have missed one prompt this year. June is my month for actually posting the prompts. Dale and Karen are really busy – so have handed the reins to the other weekly writers to take turns.  Yay – mix it up a bit and have some fun.
Enter 4 short story comps this year.
Its June. and I haven’t entered one and I suck.  Fear is getting the better of me.
Proffessional Development

Goal is to attend Byron Writers Festival as well as at least 2 professional development workshops –
Same as last month – looking forward to the Festival – even though am going to miss one of my daughters dance concerts – damn it.
Read one book a month
Haven’t read a single book in May. No that’s a lie – but I may as well say I’ve not read anything – read not one but two  Lousie Bagshaw fluffy things – Glamour – and Tall Poppies – total rubbish – not even fairyfloss for the head.  Why?  It was given to me and the couch was there and I was feeling a bit “preshous.”
Participate and complete NaNoWriMo
Four Months and counting… still no idea what I am going to write yet…

And that brings another thing up too – haven’t posted a Mistress Moon ( from my last years efforts) chapter up for over 6 weeks – disgusting.. will have to add in another goal this month – edit and post one chapter..


1 Comment »

  1. I’m glad to see you have edited up your 12 stories and also had someone else edit them for you. Best of luck with the lay out. If you don’t get it done by the 28th June as you stated, I am happy to help out when I get back from holidays. I need to check out the intricacies of both layout and encoding for different markets for Chinese Whisperings so I don’t mind (if you don’t mind!) using your Anthology as a guinea pig. Knowing you though – you will have it sorted by the 28th.

    I was thinking how our dot points are almost like wishes in a way – meaning, as you point out, it would be good to add specifics like “a paid writing job” in them. I know Paul got caught out with similar stuff last year and was more exacting in what he wrote this year.

    Cheers to the month of June … and the first of the hump months of the year. Hard to believe we’ve reached the middle of the year already.

    Like

    Comment by Jodi Cleghorn — June 5, 2009 @ 3:04 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Say something constructive... or nice at least.

Blog at WordPress.com.

