Annie On Writing

July 23, 2012

Think Censorship doesn’t apply to you? Think again

Filed under: Observations — Annie Evett @ 9:58 pm

If you think its been a bit quiet on my blog, you are right.  My account has been suspended and I’ve only just been ‘allowed’ to post again.

Frustratingly, I had a note informing me that the “content on my blog has caused concern”. I panicked, wondering what on earth I may have put on a post which would be considered inappropriate. I came to the conclusion that the newest terrorist attacks must be sent now in code through blogs such as mine , where it offers writing advice and positive book reviews.  After a google search, I found that there are alot of other disgruntled wordpress users who have received the same warnings – only to have them lifted with no explanation.

I’ve *just* received an email from “Anthony” from the tech team simply saying this :

“Thanks for getting in touch. Our apologies for the trouble. That warning message should not have been added to your WordPress.com dashboard. We have removed the warning and sincerely apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused.”

Like mine, others have had no explanation of why their accounts were suspended or who ‘reported’ them. It concerns me that this sort of thing is widespread over countries which proclaim they have free speech.  As I said before, its not like my blog even has anything inflammatory on it!

So, without trying to be paranoid.. I will be watching.. 1984… its double plus good.

1 Comment »

  1. Interesting, Annie, as I couldn’t access your ‘Behind Every Great Novelist’… D’you think it might still be happening? Cheers – Margie

    Like

    Comment by Margie — July 24, 2012 @ 8:54 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Say something constructive... or nice at least.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

