Annie On Writing

September 27, 2014

Emmaleene Leahy – Author Spotlight – Twisted Tales 2014

Filed under: Interview with Author — Annie Evett @ 8:46 am

emmalee

Emmaleene Leahy is from Ireland. Her fiction has been published in FlashFlood the National Flash-Fiction Day journal, 2012, 2013, 2014, Cake.shortandsweet issue 5, Wordlegs: Post-Tiger Stories, Three Broken Ribs, Eating my Words, 2014 National Flash Fiction Day Anthology, The Scum Gentry and Boyne Berries (Forthcoming).

Emmaleene’s  flash fiction, Jake’s Kite, is one of the 13 chosen by a panel of judges to be included in the upcoming Twisted Tales Anthology, Published by Raging Aardvark Publishing.

 She has kindly agreed to be interviewed about her story and of her writing.

Title of Flash – Jake’s Kite

 What was your initial motivation or prompt to write this story?

I wrote this in response to a prompt with cake.shortandsweet where five prompts appeared on a Wednesday and participants posted their story within 24 hours.

The five words that appeared that week were:

 hideout  ::  transitory  ::  share  ::  full bodied  ::  problem

Is the character in your story a reoccurring character in your writing?

Not at the moment but you never know when Jake might brazenly saunter into my brain for another story!

 What sort of message of feeling are you hoping you leave your audience with?

Surprise, shock or even horror!

 What sort of stories do you normally write? (Is this story a break from your norm?)

I like words and language and rich multi-sensory imagery. I also love stories with an element of the unexpected. Some (but not all) of my stories tend to have a dark side to them. It’s not a deliberate decision but just what comes up.

Why is that?

It’s funny because in person I have a sunny disposition, am usually in good form and am optimistic. Maybe I get all the darkness out in my writing!

 What projects or new story lines do you have coming up in the near future?

One of my stories “Soprano” is being published in a journal called Boyne Berries so I will be reading my story at the launch. I’d love to get my novel finished in the next few months and I am also doing a Certificate in Creative Writing for Publication so I am looking forward to getting as much writing done as possible in the near future!

 Do you enter many competitions for flash fiction?

I love writing Flash Fiction. I also enjoy sending them out into the world.  Recently I was short-listed for Retreat West Flash Fiction competition, Big Smoke Writing Factory’s competition The 99, and long-listed for Fish Publishing Flash Fiction Prize 2013, and RTE guide/Penguin Short Story competition 2014.

 Are you a member of a writing group – either online or a physical one?

Yes. I have been in many different groups over the years both physical and virtual! My current favourite is Inkslingers in The Irish Writer’s Centre in Dublin.

 Do you think these groups help or hinder a writers journey? Why?

I personally love the dynamic of writing in a group scenario. I am often surprised at what I produce and I think there’s a certain energy to the sound of a room full of people scribbling away. I love going home with the seed of a fresh story, encouragement from the group and the excitement to want to complete it.

 What encouragement or advice do you have for emerging writers of flash fiction?

Embrace the form, stretch it to its limits, experiment and most of all: Enjoy!

 How can others follow your journey?  Twitter  and  her  Blog

2 Comments »

  1. Reblogged this on Kate Murray and commented:
    An interview with a flash fiction writer. She is really good and worth a read. 🙂

    Like

    Comment by Kate — September 27, 2014 @ 9:11 pm | Reply

  2. Reblogged this on emmaleene and commented:
    Here’s my interview for Twisted Tales 2014. Available on Amazon. A perfect read to get into the mood for Halloween!

    Like

    Comment by emmaleene — October 31, 2014 @ 3:58 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Say something constructive... or nice at least.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

