Annie On Writing

September 30, 2014

Cath Bore – Author Spotlight – Twisted Tales 2014

Filed under: Interview with Author — Annie Evett @ 12:01 am

cath orange

Cath Bore is based in Liverpool, UK. She writes crime fiction and short stories about the things keeping her awake at night. Published in UK and US, including in Eating My Words – National Flash Fiction Day Anthology 2014, she has a Creative Writing MA from Liverpool John Moores University.

Cath’s  flash fiction, The Short Goodbye, is one of the 13 chosen by a panel of judges to be included in the upcoming Twisted Tales Anthology, Published by Raging Aardvark Publishing.

 She has kindly agreed to be interviewed about her story and of her writing.

The Title of your Flash.  The Short Goodbye.

What was your initial motivation or prompt to write this story?  The Short Goodbye is an offshoot from a larger piece of work. I took a line I really liked, subverted its original bent and had fun with it. Most of my short stories come from notes in my writer’s notebook, things I’ve noted down for later use, or from lines or words in songs I’ve heard and loved.

Is the character in your story a reoccurring character in your writing? My characters are always different. I enjoy meeting and spending time with new people in real life, it’s no different in the fictional worlds I create!

What sort of message of feeling are you hoping you leave your audience with? With all my short stories and my larger pieces I strive to make the reader think about things in a different way. As a writer it is part of the job to challenge and ask questions of things which may appear at first glance obvious and straight forward.

What sort of stories do you normally write? (Is this story a break from your norm?) My short stories are typically flash fiction, I enjoy keeping stories short and snappy; I like to write about things that disturb or stimulate thought, and offer up challenges.

Why is that? They are the kind of stories I enjoy reading the most.

What projects or new story lines do you have coming up in the near future? I am completing a crime novel at present, which I’m madly in love with, and working on more flash fiction and short stories. Flash fiction is an exciting and stimulating form, I can be as experimental as I like.

Do you enter many competitions for flash fiction? I do, and have been fortunate in being placed in a number of them. I love it when my stories find a happy home, whether it be in a book, magazine or on a website.

Are you a member of a writing group – either online or a physical one? Yes, a weekly writing workshop.

Do you think these groups help or hinder a writers journey? Why? Writing groups are great. I spend much of my time writing, creating characters and exploring how they’d behave and react in different situations I’ve made up in my head, so it’s good to spend time with others who do the same, and who don’t think you’re mad for talking about your protagonist as if she’s a real person. Constructive critical feedback from others you trust helps a writer see where work needs improvement or further editing. A bad writing group is awful and can be demoralizing, though; it’s important to find the right one.

What encouragement or advice do you have for emerging writers of flash fiction? Read and write, and enjoy it. Have fun with words.

How can others follow your journey?  Website ,  Twitter  Facebook

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Say something constructive... or nice at least.

Blog at WordPress.com.

