Annie On Writing

October 5, 2014

Kate Murray – Author in the Spotlight

Filed under: Interview with Author — Annie Evett @ 12:01 am

kate

Kate has recently completed her Masters in Creative Writing. She is currently working on her third short story anthology and had had a number of short stories accepted in magazines and ebook anthologies, such as ‘The Lampeter Review’ and the What the Dickens’ anthology ‘Busker’.

 She has kindly agreed to be interviewed about her  writing.

What are you working on at the moment?

I am currently working on a set of stories for a horror collection that will be published by Raging Aardvark Press on the 31st October 2014. ‘Shadows Close’ is an illustrated volume of 13 stories. Set down one road during one week in October 1983, it shows just how a closed door can hide the evils of the world. Horror is on our doorstep, even if we don’t see it.

What was your initial motivation or prompt to write this story?

The concept for the story is actually based on one street. In fact, although I have used embellishments and artistic license all the stories are based, at least a little, in truth. Of course they are from a lifetime of collecting. I have just put them all together in and set them in one week in October….

Are characters in your stories a reoccurring character in your writing?

Each story is told by a different character, but because they are all living in the same street the characters reoccur. The result is a set of stories that can be read individually or they can be read as a longer piece. The stories are held together by a Claire’s diary, who has just moved into the first house on the street. It is through her shocked eyes we see the reactions to each event.

What sort of message of feeling are you hoping you leave your audience with?

I am hoping that the reader will feel faintly disturbed, but that they will read a story that rings true with them. After all, they are all based on reality.

What sort of stories do you normally write? (Is this story a break from your norm?)

I normally write horror and thrillers. Basically if it goes bump in the night then I like to write about it.

Why is that?

I have always been a fan of horrors and I love the fact you can twist a story in order to create tension. It is that tension and pace I love. To take the reader on a story that will leave them guessing to the end is my aim.

What projects or new story lines do you have coming up in the near future?

At the moment I have a novel in the pipeline. A woman must discover just how much she is willing to do to protect her son. The working title is ‘A convenient truth’.

Do you enter many competitions for flash fiction?

I do enter a number of competitions, from flash fiction and short stories to novels. I love to pit myself against the judges to see how far I can get.

Are you a member of a writing group – either online or a physical one?

I do go to writing groups but I’m not sure I would call myself a member. I tend to be busy to I don’t normally go regularly. I am the annoying member people only ever see every few months.

Do you think these groups help or hinder a writers journey? Why?

When I was studying for my masters I found the group excellent. We were expected to write a story a week and, yes, it could be flash fiction or longer. The practice did masses for my confidence and craft. But now I find it a distraction, you see I have to write to the best of my ability, so even small stories as practice are written and re-written until I am happy. The result is that I can spend far too much time on them and none on what I am meant to be doing. So for the minute writing groups are bad for me…

What encouragement or advice do you have for emerging writers of flash fiction?

I once had stories described to me in time. A novel can be a lifetime, a short story an experience and flash fiction a moment. The only advice I can give for an emerging writer is not to include too much in your flash fiction. Limit your characters, don’t confuse the reader.

How can others follow your journey?   Blog   Website   Facebook  Twitter  Wattpad

Check out her free serialised novel

2 Comments »

  1. Reblogged this on Kate Murray and commented:
    My interview as an author and I’m talking a little more about the new collection of stories, Shadows Close’

    Like

    Comment by Kate — October 5, 2014 @ 11:04 am | Reply

  2. Hi Annie – I have nominated you for the 777 challenge. What are you working on now? 🙂
    http://kate0murray.wordpress.com/2014/10/07/a-challenge-that-has-led-to-an-exclusive-sneak-peak-of-shadows-close/

    Like

    Comment by Kate — October 7, 2014 @ 10:51 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Say something constructive... or nice at least.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

