Annie On Writing

September 4, 2015

Guy Bolton – Author in the Spotlight for Twisted Tales 2015

Filed under: Writing Tools — Annie Evett @ 9:55 pm
Tags: ,

Today we welcome Guy Bolton as our spotlighted author for Twisted Tales 2015.

Guy Bolton has been writing for most of his life, sometimes in school books, work reports, shopping lists, crosswords and letters, but at last, something to share with the world!  As a first attempt at competition level, he was delighted to have been voted the People’s Choice within this years Twisted Tales Anthology. Guy thinks that they must all be crazy, but wants to thank them all very sincerely indeed.

The title of the flash fiction.

 Over The Top.

What was your initial motivation or prompt to write this story?

 I was struggling to think of something to fit the brief for Twisted Tales and slept on it. Mister Cliché must have planted the idea in my head during the night so I could wake up with a start, a flash of inspiration, and scrabble around for the notebook and pen.


Is the character in your story a reoccurring character in your writing?

Nope. Never met him before in my life.

What sort of message of feeling are you hoping you leave your audience with?

I hope to challenge people’s assumptions about the feelings and motives of others. I think the story carries you on a short but extremely fast journey, with a twist sharp enough to leave the reader surprised to find they are dangling in mid-air.


What sorts of challenges or insights have you had writing this?

 None really. Once the story had formed in my mind, it just flowed onto the page. I do often struggle to get the initial idea for a tale, but once it happens, I can just write and write until the first draft is done. Probably lucky for my fingertips that I stick to short stories!


What sort of research did you do before you began writing it?

I didn’t really do any on this occasion. I think the trigger was my Karate Instructor who recently spotted a couple of guys in a café, one with an obviously false lower leg and one in a wheelchair. They were both young soldiers returned home. Some people were staring, as they often do, but he walked straight over, shook them by the hand and said “Thank You.“  Just a simple act of friendship and gratitude that stayed with me.


What sort of stories do you normally write? (Is this story a break from your norm?) What sorts of lengths ( short story, flash, micro, novellas, novels?)

I usually write short stories with a bit of comedy, although I do occasionally have a darker side that generates some weirder pieces.


Why is that?

 I’m no comedian, but I like to try and make people laugh a little. Sometimes if I am in the “Mr Hyde” mood, then it makes a change to scribble off in a different direction occasionally and let my mood carry the storyline along.

Are you focusing on one particular genre or story length style (i.e Flash Fiction, Short Story, Novella, Novel)? What is yours? Why/ Why not?

Not really. I work full time, teach Karate and like to spend as much time as possible with my wife, so it is often difficult to find the time. If I had chosen ‘novels’ as my genre, I would be lucky to complete one by the age of 87 so short stories work for me.


What projects or new story lines do you have coming up in the near future?

I have a few ideas in mind that I need to flesh out a bit. It’s important to me not to waste too much time getting started, otherwise I can get fed up with the story before it has even left my head. Like everything in life, it is important to act on such impulses or nothing would ever get done.


Do you enter many writing competitions ? Why/ Why not?

No. Raging Aardvark’s Twisted Tales has been my first. It just caught my eye as something I should go for, and I wracked my brain for days to get a suitable plot. It has certainly been an exciting process and I will definitely try again.


Are you a member of a writing group – either online or a physical one?

No, there is just me. I am averse to social media and have never enjoyed a crowded place or mass interaction with other people, unless they are all focussed on a good band!


Do you think these groups help or hinder a writers journey? Why?

I really don’t know. I expect it gives people a great opportunity to bounce ideas off each other, but I would also worry that I may absorb too much from other people, if that makes sense. I write what I write because I am me. I know that many of life’s influence affect us all, from what we have read and enjoyed over the years, the TV and films we watch and so on, and that makes us who we are, but I would hate to inadvertently write a story from somebody else’s viewpoint because I have discussed a storyline with them and subsequently changed my mind…


What encouragement or advice do you have for emerging writers?

 

If you have the time, use it to the full. I have very little time and enjoy writing short stories. Even then, I usually end up with a pile of reference books scattered around as I research elements of the story, and this can often lead you down long and unintended paths to another idea for a tale.

What advice or tips do you have for writers who feel they are stuck or have “writers block”?

 

I don’t know. If I cannot think of anything to write, I just stop and do something else instead. I haven’t really enough experience to suggest a cure for Writer’s Block, but shutting the laptop and ignoring it for a bit seems to work for me.

Where can others find more of your work to read? 

It can be found at www.etherbooks.com if you look for Guy Bolton, but that is the only place until Raging Aardvark publish the anthology!

How can others follow your journey? 

Sorry, but I am not on any Social Media or websites apart from Ether Books. I once had somebody I disliked from school waving from the back of a bar queue where I was working saying “Guy, Guy, we went to school together! Serve me next, mate!” and that put me off a certain reunion website at the time, and most Social Media sites seem to have evolved from that basic model. I guess I am a bit of a private individual and like to spend time with my family rather than in front of the keyboard. If one of my stories makes people chuckle, then my work is done.

Twisted Tales is an annual flash fiction competition celebrating (Inter)National Flash Fiction Day, published by Raging Aardvark Publications. Judged by a panel of experienced short story writers and editors, submissions over the last four years have been extremely high quality; making the job of the judge a difficult one. Authors are drawn from around the globe and stories ranging from lighthearted tales of childhood memories, to gruesome stories to make the reader shiver.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Say something constructive... or nice at least.

Blog at WordPress.com.

